Friday, April 24, 2009
ASMB4-IKVM
A. This is the RHEL4 UP7 Kernel limitation. Please upgrade the OS to RHEL5 to resolve this issue.
HyperMemory technology
A .The following products support with HyperMemory technology.
ATI Radeon™ X1300 Series
ATI Radeon™ X1350 Series
ATI Radeon™ X1550 Series
ATI Radeon™ X1600 Series
ATI Radeon™ HD 2400 Series
ATI Radeon™ HD 2600 Series
ATI Radeon™ HD 3400 Series
ATI Radeon™ HD 3600 Series
ATI Radeon™ HD 3800 Series
ATI Radeon™ HD 4800 Series
Please refer to this link for the products supporting HyperMemory technology.
http://www.amd.com/us-en/
M3A78-EM
A. Yes, it is normal. The ATI control panel shows 700MB as the display memory size because of AMD Hyper Memory technology. It is a technology through which the GPU can share more system memory as the display memory. When 2G or more memory is plugged in the system, the system will allocate 700MB memory for the GPU. When the UMA Frame Buffer Size is set to 256M in BIOS, 256MB of memory is dedicated for the GPU. The remaining memory (257MB ~ 700MB) is dynamically allocated to the GPU or the system on need basis. Your version of GPU-Z does not take AMD Hyper Memory into account. Hence it merely displays 256MB of dedicated system memory as the display memory.
Rampage II Extreme
A .Please upgrade BIOS to version 1306 or later to resolve this issue.
http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=Rampage%20II%20Extreme&type=bios
P5Q-EM
A .This motherboard have been specially designed to express the importance of temperature management of the memory VRM (Voltage Regulator Module, or often called power circuit), as the cooling of memory VRM are often ignored or unnoticed by many users, though it is the key to overall memory stability. Due to this reason, the motherboard temperature sensor has been placed right next to the VRM circuit, allowing the motherboard to reflect the rise and fall of memory VRM temperature at real time. In order to lower the temperature, we strongly recommend all users to ensure there is sufficient airflow passing through the memory VRM. This can be achieved via the following ways:1. The rearrangement of cables inside your chassis, to ensure there is no blockage to stop cold air from entering memory VRM zone.2. The use of CPU fan which brings sufficient airflow to its surrounding. (Higher fan spin may be required depending on the use of CPU fans.)3. Add extra fan to blow onto memory VRM directly.Note: The effect of above suggestions can be verified by monitoring the effect to the motherboard temperature reading under [Hardware Monitor] inside CMOS Setup screen, or via Pc ProbeII or AI Suite under Windows platform.
Due to their special design, the recommended motherboard temperature is also a little different to other motherboards not adopting such design. If PC Probe II report warning message of motherboard temperature, it is recommended to maintain your motherboard temperature of these three motherboards between 0 to 65 degrees Celsius to ensure overall stability of your system.
Crosshair II Formula
A .Please update BIOS to version 1502 or later to resolve this issue. http://support.asus.com/download/download.aspx?SLanguage=en-us&model=Crosshair%20II%20Formula&type=bios
How to Play .M2TS files
This is probably the safest method for playback, as these two software items are literally built for playing High-definition video content, particularly Blu-ray and AVCHD.
These software items are not free, they are both commercial solutions and are built to play movies from discs with compatible drives, therefore buying either item without a Blu-ray or HD DVD disc drive is probably a waste of money.
The other possible options below:
VLC Media Player could play back the content (as it supports H.264 video and AC3 audio directly without needing DirectShow filters), but it did run into some problems with several M2TS files.
Blu-ray players and the Sony PlayStation 3 (PS3) console support playing AVCHD files, and the at least the PS3 supports playing M2TS files directly without authoring to AVCHD first.
For an editor: Pinnacle does it well. They're using VC-1, support 5.1 audio and also have 60p profiles. You can create your own PRX file if you don't like the ones they have in there.
If you just want to transcode your files, there's a new option if you have right DShow codecs on your PC: Microsoft Expression Encoder 2 . They have a trial version.
To make it work, you'll need to have three filters:-
A TS splitter that supports AVCHD (Haali works, or use the one that comes with Sony's PMB)
A H.264 decoder (Sony's PMB uses half-res, but it's free; CoreAVC will work here too)
A AC-3 decoder (AC3Filter works)
If you're only looking for conversion, try this:
http://www.nchsoftware.com/prism/plus.html
You can download a demo that does everything for a few days for free. When you add a .mts file to it, it'll say something like "format might not be supported", but it'll do the conversion anyway. I think it just doesn't recognize the extension, but it supports h.264/avchd.
Wednesday, April 22, 2009
How to install and uninstall IPv6
Start, point to All Programs, point to Accessories, and then click Command Prompt.At the command prompt, type: ipv6 install and press the Enter Key.
To uninstall IPv6:-
Start, point to All Programs, point to Accessories, and then click Command Prompt.At the command prompt, type:netsh int ipv6 uninstall and press the Enter Key.
Restart the computer.
To disable IPv6 in Vista:
1.Click Start, click Control Panel, and then double-click Network Connections.
2.Right-click any local area connection, and then click Properties.
3.Click Microsoft TCP/IP version 6 (for Windows XP with SP2 or later or Windows Server 2003) or Microsoft IPv6 Developer Edition (for Windows XP with SP1), and then click Uninstall.
4.When prompted to confirm the removal of the Microsoft IPv6 Developer Edition or Microsoft TCP/IP version 6 protocol,
click OK.
Tuesday, April 21, 2009
Disable Internet Explorer Enhanced Security Configuration (IE ESC) for Windows 2008
Just edit the necessary setting and click on OK. Restart your IE browser, you will find all the security warning is missing, if you go to Internet Options -> Security tab, you will be able to tweak the security level for Internet zone. Last but not lease, please remain the original IE security settings for your production server. This is always the best recommendation from Microsoft.
yellow and dark images in windows photo gallery
1.Go to Vista's Control Panel > Hardware and Sound, open Color Management
2.select the Use my settings for this device checkbox.
3.Remove existing profile. (Select it and click Remove button)
4.Click the Add… button
5.Select sRGB IEC61966-2.1 ICC profile and click OK
6.Click the Set as Default Profile button"
Unable to Start Windows Firewall
1.Navigate toHKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Sevices\SharedAccess \Parameters\FirewallPolicy\FirewallRules.
2. Take a backup of these registry entries.
3. Delete the rules in the left pane Press Delete.
4. Start Services MMC (Start->Run->Services.msc). Select "WindowsFirewall" ->Right Click->Start. Firewall service should start now.
To restore the default set of rules:
1.click on Start->Type WindowsFirewall in the search box. Click on "Windows Firewall"
2.Click on "Allow a program through Windows Firewall". Click onAdvanced Tab->Restore Defaults.
Unable to open Hyperlink from Outlook
1. Click start> Run > type "regsvr32 Urlmon.dll" (without Quote)
2. reset IE
3. Start, click Run, type Regedit in the Open box, and then click OK.
Browse to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Classes\.html
Right click the value for the .html key
Select Modify Change the value from "ChromeHTML" to "htmlfile" (or
from FireFoxHTML to htmlfile)
Monday, April 20, 2009
TrustedInstaller.exe utilizing about 100% of cpu
1. Start Menu ->Run2. type msconfig and select Services section.3. delect the box next to Windows Module Installer
this will keep it from starting up when loading windows
Now to set it to manual start
1. Right click taskbar and select properties
2. Select Start Menu tab and choose Customise..." button
3. In the list, check "Display administrative tools" and click apply and click ok
4. Now go to Start Menu -> Program Files -> Administrative tools -> Services
5. Look in the list for the service "Windows Module Installer"
6. Double click and look for the dropdown menu, this will be on the "General" tab
7. Select "Manual" from the list
8. Click apply, click ok
9. Now restart
Everything should be good now .You need to turn it off in the processes from task manager
svchost.exe -- application error the instruction at "0x745f2780" reference memory at "0x00000000". the memory could not be 'read'
Faulting application svchost.exe, version 5.1.2600.2180, faulting module msi.dll, version 3.1.4000.2435, fault address 0x00012780.
Repair Steps:
Verify Windows Update and BITS Service settings:
1.Click Start->Run, type "services.msc" (without quotation marks) in the open box and click OK.
2.Double click the service "Automatic Updates".
3.Click on the Log On tab, please ensure the option "Local System account" is selected and the option "Allow service to interact with desktop" is unchecked. Check if this service has been enabled on the listed Hardware Profile. If not, please click the Enable button to enable it.
4.Click on the tab "General "; make sure the "Startup Type" is "Automatic". Then please click the button "Start" under "Service Status" to start the service. Repeat the above steps with the other service: Background Intelligent Transfer Service (BITS)
Re-Register the Windows Update DLLs << run the Batch file “SVCHostERR.bat” – or manually perform steps in this section.
Click on Start and then click Run, type: cmd and click OK.
In the command window type "REGSVR32 WUAPI.DLL" (without quotation marks) and press Enter.When you receive the "DllRegisterServer in WUAPI.DLL succeeded" message, click OK.
Please repeat these steps for each of the following commands:
REGSVR32 WUAUENG.DLL
REGSVR32 WUAUENG1.DLL
REGSVR32 ATL.DLL
REGSVR32 WUCLTUI.DLL
REGSVR32 WUPS.DLL
REGSVR32 WUPS2.DLL
REGSVR32 WUWEB.DLL
Next stop the windows update Service by typing: “net stop WuAuServ”Rename the Windows Update folder: Click Start, Run, type: %windir% and press Enter.In the opened folder, rename the folder SoftwareDistribution to SD_Old.Restart the Windows Update Service. Click Start, Run, net start WuAuServ.
Reboot system
How to Disable the Content Advisor Password in Internet Explorer
The following are steps you can take to disable the content advisor:
Click on Start and choose Run. Type in RegEdit and select OK.
Click the plus sign for H_KEY_LOCAL_MACHINE Continue down through:+H_KEY_LOCAL_MACHINE +Software +Microsoft +Windows +CurrentVersion +Policies
Click on the Ratings folder.
In the right pane of the RegEdit window, you'll see an icon called Key.
Click on it and press Delete.
Exit the registry editor
Restart the computer and run Internet Explorer again.
Choose Tools, then Internet Options (View > Options in IE 4 and below) Click on the Content (Security in IE 4 and below) tab and if the 'Enable/Disable' button still says Disable, click on it. When asked for a password, just enter a null (blank) password.
error code 80073712
> 80073712 - ERROR_SXS_COMPONENT_STORE_CORRUPT.> Windows Update file corruption.> > Delete the file pending.xml under C:\windows\winsxs> > and/or> > > Reinstall the Windows Update Agent> > Windows, x86-based systems>
http://download.windowsupdate.com/WindowsUpdate/redist/standalone/7.0.6000.381/WindowsUpdat
eAgent30-x86.exe> > Windows, x64-based systems>
http://download.windowsupdate.com/WindowsUpdate/redist/standalone/7.0.6000.381/WindowsUpdat
eAgent30-x64.exe
At the command prompt, type the following command, and then press ENTER:
reg delete HKLM\COMPONENTS /v StoreDirty
Error: 0x80072f8f
# The date / time on your computer is too different from the date / time of the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificates used by the Windows Update site..
To resolve this error, use one of the following methods:
Resolution Suggestion One:
# Check you have the correct time and date and time zone:
1. Double click the clock in the bottom right hand corner. 2. Check you have the correct time and date. 3. Click the Time Zone Tab. 4. Check you have the correct time zone.
Resolution Suggestion Two:
# Re-register these important files and check IE settings:
1. Click Start. 2. Choose Run. 3. In the Run box, type: regsvr32 Mssip32.dll 4. Click OK. 5. Repeat this time typing: regsvr32 Initpki.dll
...now
6. Open Internet Explorer7. Select the Tools menu and then select Internet Options8. Choose the Advance tab 9. Unselect 'check for server certificate revocation' reboot PC and test again!
Error: 0xC00000EA - An error occurred
Go to the properties of the external hard driveUncheck the "Compress this drive to save space"Depending on the size of the drive and the files on it, it may takesome timeRestart and attempt another full back up
In my case it worked when all previous attempts failed with thatcryptic error code: 0xC00000EA. Apparently, Vista has a problem backingup data to a compressed drive.
Error: 0xC00000EA - An error occurred. The following information might help you resolve the error:
If an MM error is returned which is not defined in the standard FsRtl filter, it is converted to one of the following errors which is guaranteed to be in the filter. In this case information is lose, however, the filter correctly handles the exception. This error occurred on computers running eTrust antivirus software. Excluding zip files from being scanned or disabling eTrust solves the problem. Contact CA, the antivirus vendor, for an updated version.
Desktop background wallpaper pictures is not working just the solid colors
Resolution:
Go to Control Panel (Classic view) > Ease of Access Center > Make the computer easierto see link, Uncheck Remove background images (where available) -- at the bottom of the window
